Badman's Tropical Fish Forum

October 19, 2019, 10:51:01 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or join our community.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Welcome to the forum! Whether you are an old pro or new to the hobby, feel welcome to share your knowledge and experience and to further educate yourself about this great pastime of ours.

PetSmart
News: Stay tuned for another contest starting soon. 

forum   guidelines calendar Forum search help Join Login  
  Main Site site map Fish Profiles Fish Stats Articles tank log Species Gallery Photo Gallery  

Badman's Chat
Users in chat
Please upgrade your brower.
in   cm  L °F   °C   click for tank volume calculations
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Need Advice regarding Malaysian Trumpet Snails please complete newbie  (Read 14834 times)
soulm8salways

« on: January 18, 2008, 12:39:11 PM »

Hi, We just switched to a nearly completely sand substrate in both of our tanks. In fact one of the tanks is completely sand now the 29 gallon...and the other has only one small patch of gravel holding my arteficial plants in place. I have no live plants at this point but might try java fern, java moss and anubias since they sound like a good place to start without special requirements. Still not sure yet.

Anyway I've heard that sand substrate can have problems with gas pockets and that Malaysian trumpet snails are great for stirring up the substrate to avoid this. Thought I'd ask a few questions before considering them. I've never kept a snail in my life so would be completely new to this.