Badman's Tropical Fish Forum

October 25, 2014, 06:11:10 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or join our community.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Welcome to the forum! Whether you are an old pro or new to the hobby, feel welcome to share your knowledge and experience and to further educate yourself about this great pastime of ours.

Discount Aquarium Supplies at ThatFishPlace.com
News: mchambersn won "The get to know the Corydoras" contest. Stay tuned for another contest starting soon. 

forum   guidelines calendar Forum search help Join Login  
  Main Site site map Fish Profiles Fish Stats Articles tank log Species Gallery Photo Gallery  

Badman's Chat
Users in chat
Please upgrade your brower.
in   cm  L °F   °C   click for tank volume calculations
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Water softener - good or bad for fish?  (Read 5022 times)
tom-in-ky
« on: November 20, 2008, 09:05:00 AM »

Hi Everyone,

I am new to this site - looks like a wealth of information here, and I look forward to participating.  I am in the process of putting together a 29 gal community tank that will be a community setting of non-aggressive species.  We have a whole-house water softener in our house, and I was wondering if this will have any bearing on filling and changing the water in the tank.  Is this a benefit, detriment, or neither?  Any special considerations here?

thanks for any advice!
Karen
Professor
Senior Staff
Obsessed Member

Tanks: 125 community, 450 pacu community, 180 community, 70 coldwater community, 30 shell dwelling cichlids

I wish I was a fish!

« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2008, 09:09:57 AM »

Welcome aboard.  I am so thrilled to see you asking questions first and then making plans.  Soooo much better than asking, "hey why are all my fish dead (again)?"

As for your water softener, you will need to avoid a few species of fish as a result, but most are fine with one.

What fish are you planning to try?