Badman's Tropical Fish Forum

April 22, 2019, 05:47:25 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or join our community.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Welcome to the forum! Whether you are an old pro or new to the hobby, feel welcome to share your knowledge and experience and to further educate yourself about this great pastime of ours.

PetSmart
News: Stay tuned for another contest starting soon. 

forum   guidelines calendar Forum search help Join Login  
  Main Site site map Fish Profiles Fish Stats Articles tank log Species Gallery Photo Gallery  

Badman's Chat
Users in chat
Please upgrade your brower.
in   cm  L °F   °C   click for tank volume calculations
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Stocking Advice for 10 Gallon Tank  (Read 2985 times)
affenlab

United States United States

« on: January 26, 2016, 04:11:05 PM »

Hi,
I am new to the fish keeping hobby. I did some research, but I still have many questions. I will be getting a 10 gallon tank. I plan on cycling the tank, and using a 50 watt heater. I will have around three different plants in my tank, so it won't be too heavily planted. (I don't know if I will need more plants or not....That is one of my questions.)

First, my stocking plan:
1 male betta
6 Julii Cory Catfish
1 Platy

Is that too much for a 10 gallon tank?

My second question was about the filter. I originally planned to use two air powered sponge filters. I heard that the betta fish don't like very strong currents. Then I heard that the Cory Catfish do best with underground filters, because that keeps the sand clean and provides enough current to supply enough oxygen to the bottom of the tank, where the Catfish are. So I don't know if I should use an underground filter, sponge filters, or just forget them and use a regular filter.