Badman's Tropical Fish Forum

March 23, 2017, 01:23:01 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or join our community.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Welcome to the forum! Whether you are an old pro or new to the hobby, feel welcome to share your knowledge and experience and to further educate yourself about this great pastime of ours.

PetSmart
News: Stay tuned for another contest starting soon. 
 
   forum   guidelines calendar Forum search help Join Login  
  Main Site site map Fish Profiles Fish Stats Articles tank log Species Gallery Photo Gallery  

Badman's Chat
Users in chat
Please upgrade your brower.
in   cm  L °F   °C   click for tank volume calculations
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Algae on plants  (Read 450 times)
Aquaman73
New Member

Offline Offline

Australia Australia

Posts: 4


« on: January 23, 2017, 02:13:19 AM »

I do 50% water changes each week. I run Co2. I have my lights on for 8 hours, which are two  Fluval plant and life 2.0 LED's. My phosphate, nitrate and nitrate are 0. I feed the fish once a day. I do all this but still get algae growing on my plants.
Logged
TwoTankAmin
Full Member

Offline Offline

United States United States

Tanks: 20- from 5.5 to 150 gals.
Posts: 309



« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2017, 08:34:29 PM »

What does your fertilizer regimen look like?
Logged

“Everyone is entitled to his own opinion, but not to his own facts.” Daniel Patrick Moynihan
Aquaman73
New Member

Offline Offline

Australia Australia

Posts: 4


« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2017, 08:46:02 PM »

I use flourish excel twice a week
Logged
russ
Whoa. Where did I put all my stuff?
Administrator
Obsessed Member

Offline Offline

Gender: Male
United States United States

Posts: 13,180


I know where rasaqua's stuff is.....


« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2017, 09:29:33 PM »

Can you describe what the alae looks like? Color, shape (flat &  blotchy or stringy).
Logged

"For every difficult question, there is an answer that is clear and simple and wrong."
(George Bernard Shaw)
Aquaman73
New Member

Offline Offline

Australia Australia

Posts: 4


« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2017, 09:35:32 PM »

I think it's brush/red algae. There seems to be blobs of hairy algae growing along the edges of the leaves.
Logged
TwoTankAmin
Full Member

Offline Offline

United States United States

Tanks: 20- from 5.5 to 150 gals.
Posts: 309



« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2017, 12:57:40 PM »

Flourish Excel is a carbon substitute, not a fertilizer.

Once one gets into plants needing moderate and higher light levels and ising additional co2, one needs to have proper lighting and proper fertilization. Failing to have these three things in proper balance will result in algae.

For example, I used to have a pressurized co2 added planted tank. it was a ton of work. I had a couple of algae outbreaks because Lights wore out or I let the co2 do so and I got bad algae. When away or ill and failing to care for the tank once or twice, I got algae. After about a decade I gave it up. Now I stay at the lower end of light levels. I use Excel, but for many years I also used phophate, nitrogen, potassium, and iron plus Tropica's  Micronutirent and trace mix. I have a recipe which is supposed to duplicate this product, it uses dry ingredients. It does not work as well but if I use it 50/50 with the Tropica the plants stay happy. They will be happier with 100% Tropica, but the stuff is pricey.

I have recently gotten more lazy and more able to over-pay and I am messing around with the Tropica Specialized fertilizer:
Quote
Premium Fertiliser has all the required micro nutrients and is recommended for all plant aquariums. Specialised Fertiliser further has macro nutrients and is suitable for aquariums with many plants. Both are liquid fertilisers that are dispensed directly into the water on a regular basis.
http://tropica.com/en/plant-care/

The Tropica site can teach you a ton about plants in tanks.
Logged

“Everyone is entitled to his own opinion, but not to his own facts.” Daniel Patrick Moynihan
Aquaman73
New Member

Offline Offline

Australia Australia

Posts: 4


« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2017, 02:28:14 PM »

I misinformed you. I use flourish, not flourish excel
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Badman's Recommended Links
1 Post
1 Topic
Last post by Badman
in Sites We Support
on 5/2/07 12:00 PM

 

Navigation
Badman's

Main Site Navigation

Complete Map

 

 

 

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Page created in 0.035 seconds with 18 queries.