Badman's Tropical Fish Forum

December 14, 2017, 05:54:46 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or join our community.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Welcome to the forum! Whether you are an old pro or new to the hobby, feel welcome to share your knowledge and experience and to further educate yourself about this great pastime of ours.

PetSmart
News: Stay tuned for another contest starting soon. 
 
   forum   guidelines calendar Forum search help Join Login  
  Main Site site map Fish Profiles Fish Stats Articles tank log Species Gallery Photo Gallery  

Badman's Chat
Users in chat
Please upgrade your brower.
in   cm  L °F   °C   click for tank volume calculations
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: FYI Aquaclear tank rim fit  (Read 1154 times)
Sheralyn
Full Member

Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 71


« on: July 05, 2017, 10:03:19 AM »

Please see following question & response from Hagen:

I need to know the maximum aquarium rim fit capabilities for each of your Aqua-Clear filter models.
Thank you, Sherry

We thank you for taking the time to contact us.
The Aquaclear 20-70 all have a 1" lip, while the AQ110 has a 1 1/2" lip.
Thank you,
Caren Arsenault
Customer Service
Rolf C. Hagen (USA) Corp
Logged
TwoTankAmin
Full Member

Offline Offline

United States United States

Tanks: 20- from 5.5 to 150 gals.
Posts: 343



« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2017, 12:29:13 PM »

I have had to cut slots in 75 gal tanks to make the AC 300 fit. That means it stays in wherever I locate it.

If one uses a power filter, I am a big AC fan. However, this is the one downside to them. They need to increase those numbers for the at least the 300.
Logged

“Everyone is entitled to his own opinion, but not to his own facts.” Daniel Patrick Moynihan
Sheralyn
Full Member

Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 71


« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2017, 02:28:36 PM »

That is exactly why I posted. My AC 70 (the old 300) does not fit my 75 gallon. I wanted to purchase an AC 30 to use interchangeably on my 20 breeder, 40 breeder, and 29 gallon. Wanted to make sure it would fit first, but had a hard time locating the info.

When they enlarge the rim fit, they should see about making the intake a little more fish friendly. I use a homemade cage on mine for certain fish.
Logged
TwoTankAmin
Full Member

Offline Offline

United States United States

Tanks: 20- from 5.5 to 150 gals.
Posts: 343



« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2017, 09:18:47 PM »

Ay my peak i had 26 assorted ACs running. Every one hace and intake sponge. I make these from the foam for the AC 500 aka 110. As one moves up in AC sizes, the foam becomes more coarse.

I have replaced a lot of my filters with either Poret foam cubes and Hamburg matten filters using Poret as well.  I am now down to  17 Aqauclears and plan to drop a few more this year.
Logged

“Everyone is entitled to his own opinion, but not to his own facts.” Daniel Patrick Moynihan
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Badman's Recommended Links
1 Post
1 Topic
Last post by Badman
in Sites We Support
on 5/2/07 12:00 PM

 

Navigation
Badman's

Main Site Navigation

Complete Map

 

 

 

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Page created in 0.03 seconds with 19 queries.